top of page

Coal Yo'Self!



I know I've ranted about my oily acne prone skin in the past but one measly line in a previous blog post didn't seem to suffice. Thus I've decided to expand my horizons (aka my blog) and add a new category to the drop down, namely 'Skincare', and yes I will probably add a few more categories as we go along depending on what interests me and what you guys request.


I've decided to dip into trying all natural skincare products and where better to experiment than at the UK's very own LUSH! Yes, I am undoubtedly a mega fan when it comes to their leisure products like their bath bombs, body washes and bath oils, but have never really dabbled in their skincare range. I poked around their store for something that suited my skin type and was eventually introduced to the 'Coalface' soap bar which I thought sounded perfect because I was to some extent clued up on the benefits of charcoal and it's been trending on Instagram for a while now.


This black beauty is a mild everyday face and body soap made for combination to oily skin and is infused with a range of oils such as rosewood and sandalwood whose properties are endless when it comes to skincare. Whilst rosewood has antiseptic properties which work to combat and soothe your breakouts stopping them in the midst of their little rampage, sandalwood aids by helping to dry out the blemishes. The soap gives off micro pieces of the charcoal which I absolutely love because it works as an exfoliant when it comes to getting rid of the dry skin left behind by the sandalwood (a two for one bonus, am I right?)


Although this soap contains liquorice root which helps to soften the skin, a property I'm sure everyone loves, it actually isn't a plus for me because I cannot stand liquorice, neither the taste nor scent, so if you're in the same boat as me bare in mind, you have been warned. The scent is extremely potent when cleansing your face but luckily does not linger on the skin once you've finished cleaning.


I've been making use of this soap for the past 2 weeks and have definitely seen a major difference in my oil control, especially beneath makeup, I feel as though it keeps my oil in their barrels and as a result keeps my makeup looking crease free. It's not too harsh or drying either which is great because I have really sensitive skin and I feel as though it is gentle enough to use on extreme case of acne as the fragments of charcoal cause no irritation.


A 100g retails for R95 (about $13) which I feel is great because it could last up to a month or so even with daily washing. I cut mine up into smaller segments so that I can store it in my little metal LUSH shampoo dish just to prevent it from coming to contact with other surfaces. I highly recommend this product to anyone with a similar or the same skin type as mine, it really has helped my skin improve and I've got my paws crossed for you guys too, but just like with any product, if you do give it a try and it causes some kind of allergic reaction or irritation then definitely stop using it, you can always try it out in the store on your hands just to make sure there is no reaction and that your acne is good to go and hopefully not return. -courts xx



bottom of page