top of page

The Essence Born Awesome Palette REVIEW

Hey guys! It’s been a while, I know, and I’ve honestly missed giving you guys my little personal! Today’s post is all about the Essence ‘Born Awesome’ palette! So I did a poll on IG asking if you guys wanted to hear my thoughts in a blog post or in a video and video got the votes. But, I tried to film that video twice and both times I was just not happy with the result, so here’s a post (please forgive me… I do come bearing gifts though. I filmed a mini-tutorial using this palette which should be up on my IG. If it’s not up yet, STAY WOKE!) sweet let’s get into it!!

I first came across this palette in Dischem and it really stood out to me. Essence has been coming out with sooo many new things it has honestly been so difficult to keep track. I swatched a few of the shades in store, and I have to admit they were pretty underwhelming, but I wasn’t about to rule it out just then.

I made the purchase at R150 (Yup, Essence is stepping up their prices, aslo shop here). The palette comes with nine shades. Three of which are matte and 6 shimmers. The larger coral shade is said to be the blush and the large shimmer is said to be the highlighter. I love the package for this palette. It’s got this really cool 70’s vibe to it and I love that it’s slender, it is so easy to pack and… it's got a mirror!!

The mattes in this palette are quite average. There’s a lot of kick up and they do take a few applications before you have a nice vibrant eye going. Even with that being said I do quite like them. I am so drawn to the tones and always get compliments/ questions when rocking shadows from this palette. I do however wish it had a dark brown shade. I often have to dip into other palettes just because there’s nothing to smoke out the look or add a little depth. The blush shade can be very chalky if not built up slowly (just FYI).

As for the shimmers… I seriously like all of them except, the blue! It’s just pointless because it just doesn’t work. I’ve tried it on a wet and dry brush, as well as my finger and nothing, seemed to give me the kind of payment I like. My favourite shimmer is the dark glitter shadow, it just looks so pretty and I love that it’s got a bit of a glitter look to it without it being actual glitter.

The highlighter and blush in this palette are quite nice. The blush has a lot of kick up but it’s so pretty once on the skin (it’s a good blush for medium to dark skin tones) and just brings back colour and life to the skin. The highlighter is beautiful! It’s very natural and has a stunning subtlety to it which people who aren’t a fan of blinding highlighters will appreciate. Personally, I feel that this is a highlighter which will look most flattering on medium to dark skin tones (there is a lighter shimmer shade which can be used as a highlighter and looks pretty on lighter skin tones).

A few things about this palette which don’t sit right with me would first have to be the price. It’s a little steep considering the amount of kick up there is, the lack of pigmentation and of course that blue shadow (yes guys I have it out for the blue!). I also feel like this palette feels incomplete because having a dark brown or black can really tie a look together. Also, the shades are definitely not as pigmented. You have to apply a lighter concealer or eye primer to your lids and then really work on blending and building the pay off you desire

With all of that being said, I still really like this palette. It’s great to carry around for when you’re travelling and you need simple and flattering on the go looks (there’s also a mirror! which is a big plus) I think that it’s something a little unique in the sense that people who like warm tones have an easy go-to palette whenever they need something that’s easy. I also feel that it’s a great palette for those who are just getting into wearing makeup because you aren’t overwhelmed with tons of shadows, there's just a few for you to learn how to blend with and create a few simple looks.

That's about it from my you guys. I hope I’ve helped in one way or another. I know you guys are itching so here it is, would I repurchase? Probably not, but, if they sold these as singles I would definitely pick up that shimmery brown, the highlighter and I think I quite like the blush so that too. As always you guys thank you so much for your love, your support and of course giving my 2c a read.

- courts xx

bottom of page