top of page

Out of Sight, Out of Mind



Blemishes rear their ugly heads every once in awhile, it's normal, expected and to some extent a total cliché, but even with all this knowledge I can't help but get annoyed when I'm getting ready to go out and there pops up 'Big Bertha', who for some reason just loves the spotlight. In my experience I've never really been able to completely blur out the curves of these things and if I'm being honest it can really close the curtains on my day.

However, the NYX 'Gotcha Covered' concealer ensures that 'Big Berth' is out of sight and mind. You can always count on this tiny tube of magic to cover up any blemishes or breakouts that you might have, it is super long wearing and waterproof. This concealer is said to cover any discoloration or imperfections you might have and is available in 10 different shades which is fantastic! It also claims that once applied to the skin there is no creasing, which in my opinion is unfortunately totally false. I've yet to apply this concealer without it having to crease under my eyes, although, if I blend it out and go in almost immediately with my Ben Nye Luxury Powder (banana) it does stay in place for a little while longer.

People with a dryer skin type would love this concealer because it's infused with coconut oil, which leaves your skin with a goddess like glow. On the other hand, folks with oiler skin might find difficulty using this concealer, naturally, because of the coconut oil it does leave your skin looking more greasy than glowy but this can be counteracted with a ton of powder and a big fluffy brush. This concealer wears beautifully cover foundation and blends perfectly onto the skin. On days where I'm looking for just a little coverage, nothing too crazy, I like to apply a small amount of the product onto my problem areas with a synthetic brush and then blend it out with my Real Techniques miracle complexion sponge. On the days I'm looking for a little more coverage I add some of this concealer to my foundation to give it a thicker consistency and I have to say the coverage is phenomenal! Something to keep in mind about this concealer is that it does have a pretty thick consistency so a little will take you to the moon and back, my advice, use it sparingly. All in all I think this is a must have product! It's perfect to travel with and small enough to keep in your 'on the go' makeup bag. It retails for about R130 (roughly about $6) which is well worth the amount of product you actually make use off on a daily basis. It isn't the best for oily skin but the coverage and long wearing formula makes up for it. Give it a shot, I'd love to know what you guys think so keep me posted.


-courts xx


bottom of page