top of page

Beat Removal 101


Okays so first things first, stop reading immediately if you've never gone to bed with your makeup on. Oh hey, look at that you're still here… We've all at one point or another hit the hay without so much as a makeup wipe to the face either because it's just way too much of an effort or we know it's just gonna take way too long. Recently I've been trying out two new makeup remover purchases and I've got to admit, I've been living for them! First on my very short makeup removal routine is the Clinique "Take the Day off Makeup removal Balm" . Although the name has proven to be self explanatory I feel as though it simply does not do this little tub of goodness justice. The product is odorless and has this almost coconut oil appearance and consistency especially when rubbed in your hands.

What's also really great about this product is that a little takes you to China and back, a little really goes a long way. I use a small amount of the balm and begin to work it into my hands to melt the product down and then I apply it all over my face gently massaging product in. Once the balm has dissolved away my makeup, I take a clean makeup wipe and wipe away all the product left on my face. Another thing that I love about this product is that you can simply wash your face after dissolving your makeup away with the balm. There is no greasy feeling left to the skin, even if you just wash it away with water. However one thing I've noticed about this balm is that it doesn't do that well when it comes to waterproof eyeliner (I'm not too sure how it works with waterproof mascara because I kinda just stay away from them).

This is where my next current fave makeup remover comes in. I have been loving The Body Shop's Camomile gentle eye makeup remover . Once I have washed off the balm I take a little of the camomile remover on a cotton pad and remove any leftover eye makeup. This stuff is so powerful, it even removes waterproof eye makeup, but it's great for sensitive skin. There's no itching or burning of any sort for both products, although I've noticed that if you keep the balm on your face for a longer period of time it begins to sting your eyes a little.

The Clinique balm retails for about R290 at Edgar's and The Body Shop's Camomile eye makeup remover was on sale for about R30. I would whole heatedly repurchase both products, they're just that great and last for a really long time. They're great for sensitive skin and make MVPs for any skincare routine. Give them a try and let me know how it goes yo.

- courts xx


bottom of page