top of page

The L'Oréal Skin Expret Pure Clay Detox Mask Review

As you guys have already probably seen on IG and other social media L'Oréal Paris released a range of different types of masks with matching face washes. I recently purchased the Detox Mask from their Pure Clay Mask range (shop here or here) which is said to cleanse and clarify the skin.

First off this product retails for R149.99 (at clicks) and contains about 50g of product which is said to give you 10 application and can be kept for up to 12 months. I straight up love the packaging! It is a glass jar (which does make it a little difficult to travel with) and has a hard plastic screw type lid along with a hard plastic pull-out lip beneath the lid.

It has ingredients like charcoal which works to detoxify the skin and a mixture of clays that help to pull dirt, oil and impurities to the surface. The product has a paste like feel to it and glossy appearance whilst in the jar although once applied it dries down  completely matte. 

I apply a thin layer of the product onto cleansed dry skin and thereafter let it dry down for about 5-10 minutes, I then wash it off with warm water. Although the packaging says to use the mask between 2-3 times a week to see results I can definitely say I loved this product right after the first use. It applied well to my skin, and dried down quite quickly, to the point that I could actually see my indentations and outlines of my pores which sounds hella gross (that it is), but I feel as though it's an indication that it's working. The mask was also a dream to take off, it washed off instantly with just a little warm water and circular motions using my finger tips. My skin felt fresh, had a glow to it and didn't feel dried out which I loved because many masks do dry my skin out pretty badly. I would say this mask can be used on all skin types but primarily normal, combination and oily. If you do have drier skin you could try out their Glow Mask (shop here or here), or if using this product apply a generous amount of your favorite moisturizer right after you wash off the product. 

Personally there is only one con to this mask which is its scent! It has an extremely potent scent, it's very strong and does tend to make my eyes water if I get too close to my eye region. This might be a con for some folk although I kinda prefer it but this mask does have a slight tingly burn to it once applied to the skin, it's not harsh, but can be uncomfortable if you're not a huge fan of that kinda sensation. Just as you would with any product, please be sure to test patch before going wild. 

That is it you guys, my thoughts on the this great mask. It really is a favorite of mine and I will be sure to repurchase it in the future. I think it is very affordable especially for the amount of product you get and the number of uses you can get out of it (is should last for a month or so). I hope you guys do give it a try, and if so please be sure to let me know, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

- courts xx 

bottom of page