top of page

The NYX 'Highlight & Contour Palette' Review

It's here, it's here keep your pants on! So yes, I took a century and a half to get this up here, but nonetheless here it is. In all honestly it took me a good couple of uses to finally form an honest opinion. 

Right let's get to the details! Soooo the NYX Cosmetics 'Highlight & Contour Pro Palette' (shop here) retails for R395 at Clicks (shop here) which is where I got mine from. It comes in a hard plastic case (I don't know about you but when I hear 'hard plastic' I'm like yes! That means its travel safe and Courtney proof!) with 8 replaceable pans, each with about 2.7g of product. The one that I purchased came with one shimmer shade 'ICE QUEEN', one satin in 'NECTAR', 2 brightening setting powders 'SOFT LIGHT' and 'CREAM' and 4 varying brown contouring shades 'TAN', 'TOFFEE', 'SCULPT' and 'HOLLOW'. Okay so, I love that the pans are replaceable, for more than just one reason. First off, for the obvious reason that you can simply replace a pan once you've used up all the product without having to prepurchase an entirely new one. Next reason would be because I'm not the biggest fan of some of the shades, just because there are some that they have included that I could honestly live without, although I have ended up using them for other things like setting eyeshadow primers or as eyeshadow (because, well, I paid for it!!!). With this being said though I do like that there are 4 contouring shades because that obviously means they took into account more than just a few skin tones, although people with very fair or very deep skin tones might have a little bit of a problem with this palette.

I also like that they're interchangeable because buying them separately would cost the earth! I'm not too sure how much the retail for in SA, Clicks didn't seem to have them on their site (which freaks me out a bit coz I'd much rather just get them here rather than pay for the 's' word and not to mention customs) but on the U.S store they retail for $5 each which roughly works out to R65 each and R520 for 8, excluding shipping!! I do really love some of the shades, 'TAN' is my favorite, I never do a makeup look without it, it's the perfect transition shade for the kinda looks that I like to do and that go well with my skin tone. Some of the shades really do not swatch well, but when applied to the face the pigment is quite good (not the best, I'm just being honest). There are a couple cons to this product, one being that they're really powdery. If you're a 'swirler' like myself, you like to swirl your brush in the product rather than dab, then make sure really tap off the excess before hitting skin. Also, make sure you powder your face properly before using the contour shades, I've noticed that it can be a little patchy on the skin when it hasn't been set properly.

That's pretty much all I have to say about this product, it is 100% TBHB approved in the sense that if it fell and shattered into pieces I would definitely go out and repurchase. I find it so easy to use, versatile and well worth it for its price, especially for the amount you end up saving.  Hope this helped any of you who are considering buying this product it truly is a good palette to have.  

-courts xx

bottom of page