top of page

The Essence Vibrant Shock Lip Paint Review

Hi people! Hope everyone is enjoying their holiday and getting into the Festive season. Today's post is a quickie! I really wanted to give you guys my 2c on the Essence Cosmetics 'Vibrant Shock Lip Paints', hence, this post. Let's get ball rolling!

These lip paints come in clear double component hard plastic rectangular tubes with a matte black screw type lid and for some reason a pretty long paddle type applicator. They come in 6 shades and retail for about R65 at Dischem (shop here ) I purchased the shade '06 Black Widow', it's a kind of dark teal shade. So right of the bat there are so many things that I love about the product. Firstly it is an Essence product so you know you're getting a really affordable product that is pretty good quality. I also love the packaging it's so sturdy and pretty chic like damn Essence stepping things up! The formula is great, the product applies so effortlessly to the lips and there's no patchiness at all (which I found super impressive especially beuase darker shades of lip products tend to apply and dry patchy). I think what I love most would have to be the opaqueness even with just a single layer. You can obviously apply a few more layers just to build it up which I recommend because it really helps to make the color pop.  

Sadly… this product has just as many cons. So the appliator is a definite 'Hell to the No!' for me personally. It's just so long and makes it a little difficult to apply the product both application wise and in terms of trying to get a nice even line around the lips. Another lil' somethin' somethin' I'm really not a fan of is the wear and feel of the paint. It does eventually dry down a bit, but for the most part this stuff is so tacky! The biggest miss for me with the product is the scent! It's so strong, takes forever to fade and honestly kinda makes me not want to repurchase or buy any of the others. 

That is it for this post you guys. I'm seriously so on the fence about this lip paint, I feel as though I do quite like it but there are so many cons. It's not that it's a bad product you just have to make it work for you. I'm always so honest about products because I feel as though I genuinely have nothing to lose, and if I'm being totally honest I'm really not too sure that I would repurchase this. I hope that this helped you guys out, if you have tried this please please please let me know your thoughts. Thank you so much for giving this a read you guys, I cannot begin to express my gratitude.

- courts xx  

bottom of page