top of page

Blogger on a Budget

AAAAAH What?! Does anyone else feel as though they blinked and suddenly fell into 2018? I just want to start off by wishing each and everyone of you a happy and blessed new year! 

So it's no secret that these days people just care a little more than before about their appearance. Keeping up with trends can not only be exhausting but damn, trust me when I say it takes a strain on your bank account too. Shopping on a budget isn't about buying cheap, it's about shopping smart! This post is all about giving you guys just 4 simple ways to looking blogger AF without having to break the bank and still get a big bang for your buck. 

MAKEUP Just a little touch of makeup can elevate a look in so many different ways. If you're not much of a makeup user and abuser, adding a pop of color can definitely bring life to your look. You can opt for a little blush, a brighter lipstick than usual, a little liner (maybe even try the dreaded wing), all these touches add to create a simple yet stunning makeup look.

Products Used for My Look - 

SKINCARE The Body Shop 'Tea Tree Mattifying Lotion' FACE L.A Girl Pro Primer Makeup forever Ultra HD foundation stick 'Y410'  L.A Girl Illuminating foundation 'SOFT HONEY' L.A Girl Pro Conceal 'FAWN' NYX Highlight & Contour Pro Palette Benefit Hoola Bronzer Ben Nye Banana Powder L.A Girl Powder Foundation ' Colourpop Highlighter 'SMOKE & WHISTLES' EYES NYX Highlight & Contour Pro Palette 'TAN' MAC Cosmetics Highlighter 'Gold Deposit' Essence Waterproof Liquid Liner 'Black' Essence Volume Stylist 18h Mascara Revlon Eyeliner Pencil 'Black' Colourpop Highlighter 'SMOKE & WHISTLES' LIPS Colourpop Matte Liquid Lipstick 'CIRCLES' 

HAIR

So 2nd, 3rd and 4th day hair is no stranger to any of us, the struggle is beyond real! I have really thick long hair so putting it up in a top-knot makes it look as though I have another head. Opting for a lower bun not only adds an element of elegance to the look but it also seriously saves some time when you're getting ready to leave the house in Warp Speed. 

To get this look I just split my hair down the center, gathered it into a ponytail (I also chose to leave out a few small peices here and there to frame my face) and then wrap it around loosely. I then just use a fabric hair tie from H&M and a few bobby pins to secure everything. I added a little dry shampoo because my hair was almost past redemption, but you can always leave it out. 

ACCESSORIZING 

This is the part most people hate and in all honesty I get why. The prices of accessories have skyrocketed over the years so I'm not surprised that people just opt to roll bare. The easiest way to avoid paying an arm, leg and kidney for stuff is simply purchasing on sale. 

Adding a pair of earrings to the look can really help you level up. I got these at H&M for SAR10 which works out to about R30 which is insanely affordable.

Another item which I feel seriously ties my looks together is adding a choker. I love chokers because they're just so easy, you can literally just pop on a choker with a plain t and your outfit automatically looks bomb! I purchased this one also from H&M for just SAR15 (R45).  

Now this one is kinda tricky because finding a hat that suits your face shape can take a golden hour or two, but once you find what style works for you you're on a roll thereafter. Much like chokers a hat paired with just about anything can really make your look come across as more chic, sophisticated and down right EXPENSIVE. I got this newspaper boy cap from Forever21 for about SAR60 (R180). 

SALE 

Last but not least on my list is shopping on sale! I know loads of people who never shop on sale… said no one ever! As a student I know the drill when it comes to shopping on a budget (try running a blog on one, it isn't easy). Shopping on sale is just another way to help manage your stack and budget accordingly. I've found that purchasing sale items usually means I get loads more for less. This entire outfit (besides my kicks) was purchased of sale, here's the 411:

T shirt - Mango (SAR39 - R120) Pants - Forever21 (SAR50 - R150) Purse - Mango (SAR100 - R300) Earrings - H&M (SAR10 - R30) Rings - H&M (SAR15 - R75)  

I hope you all enjoyed this post that might as well be called a novel! Be sure to let me know what you guys think of this little number. Please feel free to email or DM me with any questions you guys might have. In all honesty this was such a fun post to write and I will definitely try to do a whole lot more going into the new year. As always thank you so much for giving my 2c a read. 

- courts xx 

bottom of page