top of page

Sleek Makeup 'Ultra Mattes Brights Palette' Review

Hey guys! As always before we dive into the review I just want to say thank you for giving my 2c a read, I appreciate you and the fact that you take the time to hear me out.

So, Sleek MakeUp came out with their Ultra Mattes Brights Palette (shop here), which I recently purchased for SR50 which is about R165. It comes in a hard plastic matte black palette with 12 mineral based eyeshadows which weigh 1.1 grams each. It also comes with a loose little plastic sheet with the names of all the shades on it (not a huge fan of it to be honest, I'm forever losing it). I would have preferred if the names were printed on the palette itself.

Let me start of by saying that this palette really isn't my favorite. I love the color scheme, I think the shade choices are great and you could do so many vibrant and exciting looks with it, however, there are so many cons. Firstly, all, and I mean all, 12 shadows are pretty chalky but the green shade 'dragon fly', has to be the worst. I tapped my finger in it the day I purchased it and some of it actually crumbled and fell out of the pan. Another issue with this palette is the pigmentation of the shadows, they're nonexistent! In order to get a decent amount of color payoff I've noticed that you really have to make these shadows work for you. When using them you have to start of with small amounts and then blend blend blend (which does take a while to do because I've noticed that they can also be a little patchy) before attempting to build the product up.

The only positive thing I can say about this palette is that once the shadows are built up they really do look vibrant and they do stand out over a fair concealer or primer on the lid. That sums it up folks. Like I said, this purchase really was not the best, if you're looking for an affordable palette with vibrate bright shades to play around with then you could get this one although I don't think it's worth the money and I personally would not repurchase this, if for example I dropped it and it shattered into thousands of pieces which is usually what happens because well, I'm Clumsy smurf, I would definitely not run out and grab another one of these off of the shelf. I'm super bummed about this palette, I had high hopes, but nonetheless I hope you guys enjoyed this review and as always thank you once again for the read.

- courts xx

bottom of page