top of page

NYX Tame & Frame Review

Back again? Well then, I guess I must be doing something right. Much like everything else in this world, brows have also evolved over the years and at the moment, a nice set of sister brows are all people talk about, well besides Kylie's 'pregnancy', that's right I'm calling it.

If you follow me on IG (which I'm truly grateful if you are), you'd know that I purchased the NYX 'Tame & Frame' brow pomade shop here in the shade Espresso, a deep brown. The pomade retails for about R155 each and there are 5 shades available namely Blonde, Chocolate, Brunette, Espresso and Black which I think is an okay range, it's not too bad they seem to cover all bases. This pomade is also said to be waterproof and humidity proof, that's right guys just try taking them swimming on the first date, it's not gonna do you much good.

So when I first purchased this I kinda didn't like it. I found it difficult to work with because every time I'd try to pick up product it would just clump up on the brush and then get stuck in my brow hairs, it was a hot mess and a half. But now that it's been a couple weeks since, it has definitely grown on me. Story time! I wore this pomade on the trip from Saudi back to SA (that's like 12 hours of traveling all together) and my brows stayed put, like through the naps on the plane and layover. So if you're looking for an all day kinda brow I definitely think this should be your go to, it's for sure mine.

Some cons to keep in mind though. You have to work in small quantities and with a really good angled brush (something small with slightly firm bristles) because like I said it can tend to clump in between brow hairs. I've noticed that making just a little dent in the product and gradually picking up from just that single dent helps to control the amount of product the brush picks up. Also, be sure to brush through your brows a couple times with a firmer spoolie than usual, it really helps to distribute the product so that there are no harsh lines or excess pomade.

(before)

(after)

All in all I seriously dig the product! Honestly it took some getting used to, if you've worked with a pomade before you'll have a little less trouble, but now that I've gotten the hang of it I know for sure I will be repurchasing. I've been using it for well over a month now and I haven't reached the bottom which I love, because with brow pencils I usually run out within the month of purchasing.

To wrap things up I'm just gonna keep it simple, go out, and get it. Thank you so much for giving my 2c a read once more you guys, I wholeheartedly appreciate it.

- courts xx

bottom of page